The Region

The North Shore region, located in northeastern Quebec, is the second largest region in the province. The territory stretches over 1,280 kilometres, from the city of Tadoussac to Blanc-Sablon, and includes Anticosti Island as well as the cities of Schefferville and Fermont located in the northernmost part of the region.

The North Shore Community Association (NSCA) is mandated to represent and serve the English-language minority communities in Quebec’s North Shore, a constituent territory composed of five MRCs (municipalités régionales de comté – regional county municipality), spanning from Tadoussac to Havre Saint-Pierre and including Fermont and Schefferville. The region’s population of 2,1601 English speakers includes also the Naskapi population, the region’s first-official-language-anglophone First Nations.


The MRC of Caniapiscau contains five communities: the towns of Fermont and Schefferville, as well as two Montagnais communities—Matimekush and Lac-John—and the Naskapi community of Kawawachikamach.

Total population: 4,362
English-speaking: 602


The MRC of Sept-Rivières consists of five communities: the territory of Lac-Walker, the town of Port-Cartier, the city of Sept-Îles, and the Indian reserves of Maliotenam and Uashat.

Total population: 35,138
English-speaking: 1,029

La Haute-Côte-Nord

The MRC of la Haute-Côte-Nord consists of nine communities: the town of Forestville, the municipalities of Colombier, Les Bergeronnes, Les Escoumins, Longue-Rive, Portneuf-sur-Mer, Sacré-Coeur, the village of Tadoussac, and the Indian reserve of Essipit.

Total population: 11,546
English-speaking: 32


The MRC of Manicouagan consists of 10 communities: the city of Baie-Comeau, the villages of Baie-Trinité, Chute-aux-Outardes, Godbout, Pointe-aux-Outardes, Pointe-Lebel, and Ragueneau, the territory of Rivière-aux-Outardes, the municipality of Franquelin, and the Indian reserve of Pessamit.

Total population: 32,012
English-speaking: 450


The MRC of Minganie consists of 10 communities: the municipalities of Aguanish, Baie-Johan-Beetz, Havre-Saint-Pierre, l’Île-d’Anticosti, Longue-Pointe-de-Mingan, Rivière-au-Tonnerre, Rivière-Saint-Jean and Natashquan, and the Indian reserves of Mingan and Natashquan.           

Total population: 6,582
English-speaking: 47


1 First Official Language Spoken (FOLS).


Copyright © 2009 - 2017,
NSCA - North Shore
Community Association.
All rights reserved.